# Yellowknife Senior's Society, March 23, 2023 Annual General Meeting - Baker Centre, Yellowknife

**Present:** Vice-President-Margaret Beckwith, Treasurer-John Williston, Secretary-Donna Williston, Past President- John Soberberg, Executive Director-Kimberly Doyle, Board Director-Gloria Reyes, Board Director-Kathy Paul-Drover. **Regrets:** President-Gail Cyr, Board Director-Marilyn Jordan Members and guests of the Yellowknife Senior's Society.

## Call to Order:

A quorum of Members was recognized and the meeting was called to order by Vice-President Margaret Beckwith at 6:05 pm.

#### Introduction of Guests:

Julie Green, MLA for Yellowknife Centre, Minister of Health and Social Services responsible for Seniors. Karen Willy, Executive Director, NWT Seniors Society. Daryl Dolynny, Chief, Executive Officer, Avens Seniors. Sara Fullerton, Director of Finance, Avens Seniors.

## Approval of the Agenda:

Item #5 change date to 2022 AGM A motion to approve the agenda was made by Merlin Williams. Seconded by Wendy Bisaro. Carried.

## Approval of Minutes from the 2022 AGM

A motion to approve the Minutes was made by Kathy Paul-Drover. Seconded by Merlin Williams. Carried.

## **Business Arising from the Minutes:**

The Paid Caregiver Program has been extended to March 31, 2024.

## **President's Report:**

A written report was tabled.

#### **Executive Directors Report:**

A written report was tabled and presented by Kimberly Doyle, Executive Director.

#### **Financial Report:**

A written report was tabled and presented by John Williston, Treasurer. Zack Silva from Avery Cooper was thanked for the 2022 Financial review he completed for the Yellowknife Senior's Society.

John Williston presented a motion to accept the Financial Report as presented. Moved: Kathy Paul-Drover. Carried.

#### **Appointment of Auditor for 2023:**

A motion was presented by John Williston to appoint Avery Cooper & Co. Ltd. as the Yellowknife Senior's Society Auditor for 2023.

Moved : Bill Graham Seconded: Wendy Bisaro Carried.

#### **New Business:**

John Soderberg presented a motion to delete By-Law #7.9 requiring Board Members to only have two year term and that the remaining items be re-numbered.

Moved: Shirley McGrath. Carried.

#### **Election of the President:**

John Soderberg, Chair, Nomination Committee called and closed Nominations. Wendy Bisaro was acclaimed for a two year term.

# **Election of Board Members:**

John Soderberg, Chair, Nomination Committee called and closed nominations. A slate of ten candidates for nine positions was presented. An election was called and ballots were drawn up. Members voted and ballots were counted with the following members were elected to the Board of Directors.

Gloria Reyes, Kathy Paul-Drover, Marilyn Jordan, John Williston, Donna Williston, Hal Logsdon, Donna Gibson, Meika Cameron and Terry Hawkins.

John Soderberg made a motion to destroy the ballots immediatly. Moved: Kathy Paul-Drover. Seconded Julie Green. Carried.

# Adjournment:

With business concluded, the meeting adjourned at 8 pm. Moved: Kathy Paul-Drover. Seconded Archie Stewart Carried.